×
×

Welcome to AMC!

Welcome!


African Movie Channel (AMC) is a global player in the rapidly expanding African film industry which is now the second largest film industry in the world. African Movie Channel's 24-hour linear channel dedicated to the best Nollywood and African movies and series is available across 14 countries, and is one of the most popular channels in Africa.

Read More

×

AMCOP

AMCOP

team

AMCOP Sunday Night Movie

Directly from our production hub, AMCOP, AMC is ending your year in style with the world premiere of our very own original movies, showcasing excellent African storytelling by home-grown talent. Every Sunday night at 21:00 GMT/23:00 CAT, we are gracing your screens with movies to thrill, excite and pull on your heartstrings. Exclusive to AMC Series.

×

The Nollywood Phenomenon

Nollywood is the second largest film industry in the world. It produces circa 2,500 movies annually, and is extremely popular with Africans at home and the Diaspora, African-Americans, Afro-Caribbeans, and “African culture fans”.

Currently, Nollywood films significantly outsell Hollywood films in Nigeria and many countries in sub-Saharan Africa; they are available in even the most remote areas of the continent.

New forms of distribution include digital distribution pioneered by the African Movie Channel through its online high quality On-Demand services, and soon, via its Roku channel and iPad app.

African Movie Channel's 24-hour linear channel, AMC24, launched in May 2011, is available in more than 5 million homes across 14 countries. It is one of the most popular channels in Africa.

Nollywood movies are now regularly screened alongside mainstream movies in cinemas in Nigeria, Ghana, the UK and North America. Nollywood films are also receiving wider distribution as more and more Nigerian producers and directors are attending internationally acclaimed film festivals.

×

AMC MOVIE TALK

AMC Movie Talk Season 2

Join us every week on the AMC couch as we talk to the biggest movers and shakers in the buzzing industry. We are putting you in the know with all things in African and Nollywood cinema; Actors, actresses, directors, producers, filmmakers, classic cinema and soon to be blockbuster hits - it’s all here for you on AMC Movie Talk.

AMC Movie Talk Season 2, Mondays & Fridays @ 20:30 GMT / 22:30 CAT, exclusively on AMC Series

×
DECEMBER 2020 HIGHLIGHTS
  • BRAND NEW: Samba
    Tuesdays 6.30PM GMT / 7.30PM WAT/ 8.30PM CAT on AMC Series

    The award-winning series, Samba looks at the resilient role of African women in society today as we follow the lives of two women in positions of power who struggle to cope with the chaos of their domestic lives. A fast-rising company is run by Katrine and Noella, two delightful divas in their late twenties, obviously married to the wrong men. Then there's Leo, a male chauvinist pig, and Maxwell, who is still obsessed with his ex, Lauretta. A high-stakes drama set in an African fashion house whose vibrancy and volatility are matched only by the bright, changing colours of a chameleon. Starring Kelly Ade, Nsang Dilong, Epulle Jeffery, Marie Nyna.

     

    BRAND NEW & EXCLUSIVE: AMC Music Lounge Season 2
    Fridays 7PM GMT / 8PM WAT/ 9PM CAT on AMC Series

    Brand new season of AMC Music Lounge featuring up and coming music artistes alongside established musical icons discussing and analysing matters concerning music and their general life. Hosted by Izzy Idiaru.

     

    BRAND NEW & EXCLUSIVE: The Hangout Season 3
    Wednesdays 9PM GMT / 10PM WAT/ 11PM CAT on AMC Series

    Love, sex, friendship, finance, health, pop culture and personal agency are interesting subjects among young people. On this show a group of millennials are given a platform to meet and freely debate on controversial topics. This bunch of opinionated, sassy, and social media savvy youngsters will not only keep you entertained but also give you an insight of what young people really think. Hosted by Ibidunni Osho.

     

    BRAND NEW & EXCLUSIVE: AMC @ Home
    Fridays 6PM GMT / 7PM WAT / 8PM CAT on AMC Series

    Join our host, Izzy Idiaru, for a new virtual "isolation" show featuring celebrities and public figures alike as they give us their best stories from home about these current times. Exclusive to AMC.

     

×

African Movie Channel’s two 24-hour linear channels, African Movie Channel and African Movie Channel Series (AMC Series), are available on multiple TV platforms in more than 5 million homes across several African countries.

Reach us

The channels are dedicated to showing only the best quality movies and series from Nigeria’s Nollywood, and the best from the rest of Africa, and are designed to be offered on various TV platforms across the African continent and beyond.

Our channels, considered to be amongst the fastest growing channels in Africa, are presently two of the most popular channels on the continent!

AMC Movies and AMC Series are the best channels of their kind there are, because over the years, AMC has built up significant experience from identifying desirable content, and has invaluable access to popular and compelling African content, and contacts in the African media industry.

×

In the News...

African Movie Channel debuts on Connected Freeview

Nollywood broadcaster African Movie Channel (AMC) has launched its flagship offering, also called African Movie Channel on the Freeview digital-terrestrial platform in the UK.

African Movie Channel will be available on connected Freeview boxes and TVs via Channelbox on Freeview Channel 271, makes African Movie Channel the first Nollywood channel to be distributed on Freeview.

×

African Movie Channel goes HD

International Pay TV operator and UK-based broadcaster, African Movie Channel (AMC) has launched African Movie Channel HD, the world’s first HD Nollywood channel.

AMC has from inception been a premium 24-hour African movie channel, showcasing only the best, rich and award-winning Nollywood movies, along with some of the best from the rest of Africa; from AMC’s own original and exclusive movies directly from its African Movie Channel Production Hub (AMCOP), to the latest cinema release blockbusters for the whole family, now all in HD.

×

African Movie Channel, AMC Series and Nolly Africa Launch On Airtel TV

Lovers of Nollywood and other African movies can now enjoy unlimited access to premium content as Nigeria’s leading Video on Demand and live TV streaming platform, Airtel TV has added popular channels, African Movie Channel (AMC Movies), AMC Series and Nolly Africa to its robust catalogue.

×

African Movie Channel's AMC Series Returns To StarTimes

 

A year after African Movie Channel’s AMC Series channel departed StarTimes, it is making its return to the television platform.

Following a new deal signed in August with StarTimes, the international Pay TV operator and UK based broadcaster, African Movie Channel (AMC) will launch African Movie Channel Series (AMC Series) on the StarTimes DTT and DTH African television platforms, on 30th August 2019.

×